I wanted to ask you…

I wrote this a couple years ago. I’m not sure if I want to call this a poem, though. More like a slightly rhymey mumblefest.

I never intended it to be read, but only heard and seen. It makes a lot more sense when I perform it. But since this is a blog, it’s going to appear here in a written form. Cool? Cool.

I tried to use punctuation and spacing to sorta kinda-ish represent how it might sounds if you heard it spoken. Almost. I tried. It probably will not make much sense unless you really play along with with the indicaed pauses and whatnot.

Imagine these are the words of a slightly awkward, fumbly-tongued young man who’s quite sure about his own thoughts and feelings but worried that they might not be acceptable to someone else. He’s trying to say some simple words but finding only complicated ones. So… um… yeah. I wrote this.

Here’s the one I call “I wanted to ask you…”

Hi.

I wanted to ask you…

… *Deep breath*…

I wanted to ask you… if it’s okay with you… that I like you… when I only kinda know you.

I mean, I think you’re beautiful!

Well… it’s not so much a thought as it is a feeling. What’s appealing is the sight of you.
Gotta fight with my eyes to look away to the side of you so you don’t notice I’ve got eyes for you, ‘cause I don’t know if that’s alright with you.

I mean, I don’t even know you very well.

But even though I don’t know you super well… I like you.
I mean, I know you well enough to know that I want to know you more. I’ve seen glimpses of the heart of you that make me want to explore. Like a smoke signal, right? And where there’s smoke… there might be more.

I overheard my heart saying nice things about you, and I wanna know if they’re true.
‘Cause I’ve met tons of godly women that don’t hook me like you do.

I heard a rumor from…

*sigh*…

… well… from…

… okay I heard it from myself.

… but the rumor said you might be…

… well…

… awesome. : )

A humble, godly woman full of love and righteous wealth.

But why should I believe a rumor that I heard from myself? So… *nervous laughter*…

…*sigh*…

… yeah.

Uuuuhh…

You know what? I’m sorry. Sorry.
… Let me start over. Yea, I’m gonna start over…

*Long, nervous, deep breath*

Sorry.

*Deep breath*

Uuuhhh…

Hi.

Um…

… I- uhhhh…

… um, I- I- I- …wanted…

*deep breath*

I wanted to ask you…

I mean…

I wanted to ask you…

*Sigh* … you wanna get some coffee tomorrow afternoon?

… I overheard my heart saying nice things about you, and I wanna know if they’re true.

Unpublished work © 2013 Doug Walton

Thoughts?

