There Is a Place

In the Bible, God frequently uses the analogy of a bride and groom to describe his realtionship with his people. The way He acts and speaks toward his people is often very husband-like. (like a good husband… actually, a perfect husband) It’s dowmright romantic, at times.

I wrote this lyric in May of 2012 from the perspective of Jesus speaking (or singing, I guess) to his bride, his people.

Verse 1:
Come, come to me quickly.
Come. I love you, my bride.
I’ve made the arrangements
For you to be by my side.

You, you are my darling.
You. I love you, my friend.
I can’t wait to hold you
When our love has no end.

Chorus:
There is a place. I will go there, perfect and free.
I am the way. You can come too, if you’ll follow me.

Verse 2:
Come, come now, my beauty.
Come. I love you, my bride.
No blemishes on you –
Your face you need not hide.

You, you are my sweetheart.
You. I love you, my friend.
No strength can divorce us,
Though kings and depths may contend.

Chorus:
There is a place. I will go there, perfect and free.
I am the way. You can come too, if you’ll follow me.

Verse 3:
Come, come now, my treasure.
Come. I love you, my bride.
To spare you from danger,
My love, I joyfully died.

Chorus:
There is a place. I will go there, perfect and free.
I am the way. You can come too, if you’ll follow me.

End:
Come, come to me quickly.
Come. I love you, my bride.
I’ve made the arrangements
For you to be by my side.

 

 

 

 

 

Unpublished work © 2012 Doug Walton

Thoughts?

